99 Acura 3.5RL 871xp RM OEM Alarm Problem - Acura Forum : Acura Forums
Acura Forums Acura Forums
 
Go Back   Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > RL > 1st Gen RL


1st Gen RL Forum for the 1996-2004 Acura RL

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-11, 01:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 90
My Mood: Amused
99 Acura 3.5RL 871xp RM OEM Alarm Problem

I was having problems with my OEM alarm on my 99 Acura 3.5RL. It would go off randomly for no apparent reason, without any apparent trigger or cause. After much googleing and many forum searches on many different sites, i came to the conclusion that my hood latch sensor had gone faulty and decided to "jump" the 2 pin connector.

Feeling that i needed better car security, i decided to have my python 871xp installed with the 555d bypass module. unfortunately the car would not remotestart although the other functions worked perfectly fine.Under the advice of my installer, i plugged the hood latch sensor back in. This however did not solve any problems i had with the 555d, so i purchased the TBXKEY and had that installed with great success.

My only problem now is that when i try to remotestart the car, the OEM alarm will go off occasionally, mostly when the car has been sitting for a few hours (4 or more) or when the weather is cold. I have tried to jump the hood latch sensor again but doing so only causes a zone fault detection by the Python 871xp, therefore disabling me from remotestarting the car.

Any and All input is appreciated!
Thanks!
pmendoza502 is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-24-11, 10:31 AM   #2
Acuraworld Preferred Vendor
 
Hondacuraplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY USA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,522
Garage


Car 1: 2007 Cadillac DTS
Rather than use the factory wiring, run the hood switch wires directly to the ECU of the Python system. That should solve it.
__________________


Tim Poliniak - ASE Certified Parts Specialist, 19 years with Acura/Honda

Acura of Peoria ~ www.oemacuraparts.com
Hondacuraplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-11, 03:24 PM   #3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 90
My Mood: Amused
even if its the hood latch sensor that is faulty?
pmendoza502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-11, 10:32 AM   #4
Acuraworld Preferred Vendor
 
Hondacuraplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY USA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,522
Garage


Car 1: 2007 Cadillac DTS
Well if you know that the hood latch sensor is faulty, replace it.
__________________


Tim Poliniak - ASE Certified Parts Specialist, 19 years with Acura/Honda

Acura of Peoria ~ www.oemacuraparts.com
Hondacuraplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-11, 04:46 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 90
My Mood: Amused
in not 100%s sure if it is the hood latch... just after much googling and many forum searches, i am leaning to believing that it is the hood latch switch/sensor (what ever its called)

a new development is that now since me and my teacher have been trying to diagnose the problem via checking the voltage to the switch through the harness and checking the health of my battery, and everything seems fine. Now the alarm doesnt go off, but if the car sits for a few hours, (say 2-8 hours) either:

a) the oem alarm will go off and the car will remote start
b) the oem alarm will go off and the car wont remote start
c) the oem alarm wont go off and the car wont remote start
or more rarely
d) everything will work properly, the oem alarm wont go off, and the car will remote start

(a) usually happens in the morning after the car has been sitting all night (4+ hours at least) therefore forcing me to disarm the car and rearm the car, all while remotestart is working and operational

(b) happens more often that (a) also in the morning, after the car has been sitting all night (4+ hours at least) therefore forcing me to disarm the car and rearm the car, all while remotestart is attempting to remotestart the car, but not able to crank the engine (just clicking and flashing of the remotestart module, but no starter crank)

(c) happens randomly, remotestart is attempting to remotestart the car, but not able to crank the engine (just clicking and flashing of the remotestart module, but no starter crank)

(d) happens more likely after i drive the car to a destination, and then return to the car, and/or remotestart within the hour of arriving at my destination


anyone have any ideas?
pmendoza502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-11, 10:01 AM   #6
Acuraworld Preferred Vendor
 
Hondacuraplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY USA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,522
Garage


Car 1: 2007 Cadillac DTS
The hood latch is only $51.55. Just replace it and see where you're at.
__________________


Tim Poliniak - ASE Certified Parts Specialist, 19 years with Acura/Honda

Acura of Peoria ~ www.oemacuraparts.com
Hondacuraplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-11, 10:53 PM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 90
My Mood: Amused
If i disable the factory alarm might i have to have the aftermarket alarm rewired?

also yesterday and today, i tried to remotestart the car only to (b) happened again, so i took out the key in the bypass module put it in the ignition and started the car, then i put it back in the bypass module and remote started the car just fine... but i know for sure that if i let the car sit for 2 hours or more i will have problems remotestarting the car again

im starting to get really confused, i dont know where to begin troubleshooting the problem...
pmendoza502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-11, 11:10 AM   #8
Acuraworld Preferred Vendor
 
Hondacuraplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY USA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,522
Garage


Car 1: 2007 Cadillac DTS
I think that a part of the problem can be traced to the fact that you have two security systems plugged into the same switches. If something triggers system A, it will give a reading to system B, and vice versa. One or the other needs to go. You'll have to spend time making sure that the wiring only goes to one of the two systems.
__________________


Tim Poliniak - ASE Certified Parts Specialist, 19 years with Acura/Honda

Acura of Peoria ~ www.oemacuraparts.com
Hondacuraplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-11, 01:28 AM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 90
My Mood: Amused
The Good news: After adjusting the key in the bypass module and adjusting the antenna around the key cylinder, the car remote starts now. the alarm doesnt go off at random and i think i may have pinpointed the problem to the trunk latch sensor and not the hood latch sensor because when i close the trunk every once in a while the python alarm will indicate a fault in the system...

The Bad news: when i remote start the car the OEM alarm will still go off... and the car doesnt remotestart in the morning which is when i want it to start the MOST! (u know, warm up the car on a cold day!)

the car remotestarts fine after i have ran the car for a lil bit even about 3-4 hours later, just not more than 4 hours later...

for the last few days the OEM alarm hasnt been arming for some reason, (which is actually a good thing) and the OEM alarm was not going off when i remotestarted the car, but as luck would have it, today the OEM alarm started arming again. (hence the OEM alarm going off when i remote start the car)

my question now is, how do i disable the factory alarm and still have everything else work fine.
pmendoza502 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-11, 10:44 AM   #10
Acuraworld Preferred Vendor
 
Hondacuraplanet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Buffalo, NY USA
Age: 43
Posts: 4,522
Garage


Car 1: 2007 Cadillac DTS
See my above post. Beyond that, I don't know.
__________________


Tim Poliniak - ASE Certified Parts Specialist, 19 years with Acura/Honda

Acura of Peoria ~ www.oemacuraparts.com
Hondacuraplanet is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > RL > 1st Gen RL


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



Auto Insurance

» Featured Product
Wheel & Tire Center

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.2

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:18 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Garage Plus vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.
(c) Acuraworld 2006-2009. All rights reserved. Some likenesses, images, and the Acura logo are (TM) American Honda Corporation.Ad Management plugin by RedTyger