Key programing - Acura Forum : Acura Forums

1st Gen RL Forum for the 1996-2004 Acura RL

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 11-15-09, 04:52 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Key programing

I see post about programing keys but not actual instructions.
Can someone point me to instruction how to program key for RL.
I have '97 Acura RL,I have black key (I assume it is master) and I found red key also.
Thanx.
bostech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 11-15-09, 03:12 PM
2000RL
 
2000RL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 173
The black key is your "master" key. The red key is the "learning" key. "Do-Not" attempt to start your RL with the red key. It can cause the immobilizer system to malfunction and it will make the black master key (and gray valet key if you have one) unusable. The red learning key is used by the dealer to code new master or valet keys to your car's particular immobilized unit. You can take the red learning key to an Acura/Honda dealer and with that key they can code you new keys using the Honda-PGM tester.
2000RL is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 11-15-09, 03:25 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Too late already tried but nothing happened.I ordered two blanks from Ebay,so I guess I take those blanks,red and master to dealer.Any idea how much do they charge?
bostech is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 11-16-09, 08:53 AM
2000RL
 
2000RL's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 173
I don't know what they charge for the service. And I don't know if they will code "third party" key blanks either. All you can do is ask. Hope you didn't screw-up your immobilizer system by using the red key.
2000RL is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 11-16-09, 11:24 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
bostech, have you taken the blank you got off ebay to the dealer? I got one off ebay too, but haven't had time to get it cut and programed. Just wondering what you had to bring and how much it was.

I guess if they don't program "third party" keys (even though it is OEM) you can take it to a local locksmith
Malone is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 11-16-09, 01:19 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Well,i'll find out if they bother to answer phone.One dealer is not answering at all and second one I get secretary but still no service dept.
I took key to ACE hardware but he was clueless,he swiped key thru that box but didnt register chip in it.
bostech is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 11-16-09, 02:38 PM
Old Parts Slinger
 
C25A1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Age: 32
Posts: 9,605
Garage
Send a message via AIM to C25A1guy
The immobilizer system works in 3 parts. The key, the immobilizer unit and the ECU. If any one of these is out of sync, it will result in a no-start. I just did a key cylinder swap on a Prelude (same system). The new part came with a new immobilizer unit and keys that needed to be brought to the dealer for programming. What I did was I reused the existing immobilizer unit, took the keys to the dealer and had they clone the code from the old key to the new and it works like a charm. If you have new keys cut, it would probably be a more cost effective solution to have a RFID clone over onto the new keys then paying more and have a complete reprogram.

-Dean
C25A1guy is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 11-19-09, 11:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by bostech View Post
Well,i'll find out if they bother to answer phone.One dealer is not answering at all and second one I get secretary but still no service dept.
I took key to ACE hardware but he was clueless,he swiped key thru that box but didnt register chip in it.
yeah I took mine to ACE also, but they said they can only program their aftermarket ones and not the OEM keys. Let me know if you get through to the dealer. (the one off Atlantic blvd?)
Malone is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 11-19-09, 02:06 PM
Old Parts Slinger
 
C25A1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Age: 32
Posts: 9,605
Garage
Send a message via AIM to C25A1guy
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malone View Post
yeah I took mine to ACE also, but they said they can only program their aftermarket ones and not the OEM keys. Let me know if you get through to the dealer. (the one off Atlantic blvd?)
The one in Alhambra, CA?

-Dean
C25A1guy is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 11-19-09, 06:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by C25A1guy View Post
The one in Alhambra, CA?
nah, jacksonville FL
Malone is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 11-22-09, 12:13 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Dealer wants $120...I guess $5 for key and $115 for hard working labor.Locksmith wants $99.ACE is clueless about Acura RL keys.
bostech is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 11-22-09, 05:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 41
what the hell, is that the price with a new key too? or just for cutting and programming it? because I already have a blank
Malone is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > RL > 1st Gen RL

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Acura Forum : Acura Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome