OEM Stereo to Aftermarket Subs and Amp - Acura Forum : Acura Forums

2nd Gen TL Forum specific to the Acura TL, 1999-2003.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 04-19-06, 06:48 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
OEM Stereo to Aftermarket Subs and Amp

Hello All,

I have an 2003 Acura TL-S W/ Navi and i would like to ad an amp and subs. After much reading i have found that i will lose the sound from the nav if i replace the head unit (not to mention the cd changer built into the stereo) and i really dont want to jump through those hoops to make this work.

I would really like to integrate an amp and 2 subs to the stock stereo without replacing everything.

I have heard that you can buy an adapter that provides line level outs, has anyone heard of this? the second option i was told i have is that i can splice the rear deck speakers into the line inputs on the amp (if the amp has them) but they told me first i would have to make sure that the (acura bose) speakers werent powered.

Any help would be appreciated
infinity2006 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 04-19-06, 07:00 PM
pavement shaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: medford
Age: 27
Posts: 115
Send a message via AIM to xdifranko69
i have a system in my car along with the navi the way i hooked it up was i used the stock head unit and ran from that took the stock bose subwoofer out and put in a new amp and 2 subs i still get complete sound from the navi and the volume still dims so i can hear it too it might sound kind of sketchy though i wasnt sure how to explain it

02 nighthawk black pearl tl type s
19in black zenetti mystics
12000k hids
2 jl audio 12in W6's / 1 jl 1000/1amp
2 7' tvs in the headrest
navi conversion
playstation2
hard wired radar detector and ipod
aem cai intake
xdifranko69 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 04-19-06, 07:11 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 6
Im pretty sure i know what you did, you dumped the factory sub and ran the wires to the inputs to the amp. Now with the signal to the line level input of the amp you were able to wire up the subs and of course you have power and ground ran accordingly.

- Mark

P.S. correct me if i am wrong
infinity2006 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 04-19-06, 07:20 PM
pavement shaker
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: medford
Age: 27
Posts: 115
Send a message via AIM to xdifranko69
yes that is correct the only thing i had rong was the fuses for the subs comming from the battery the fuses wernt strong enough so they would blow out and leave me with no radio for a few days so eventually i got a stonger type fuse that would be able to power it all and they radio has been working great since

02 nighthawk black pearl tl type s
19in black zenetti mystics
12000k hids
2 jl audio 12in W6's / 1 jl 1000/1amp
2 7' tvs in the headrest
navi conversion
playstation2
hard wired radar detector and ipod
aem cai intake
xdifranko69 is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 04-21-06, 11:27 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Age: 45
Posts: 21
I am not too crazy about line level outputs.

I've had done what you are asking about in my GMC Yukon, with great success. I am an average backyard car audio installer, but wanted a professional job done and had a shop install it. Anyway, they "relocated" the factory radio. It's hidden in the rear. I had to buy some other module too to make it all work (and keep the factory chimes and stuff.) I don't have navi in that ride, but it works the same way in the GMCs if you have navi I believe. This might be an option for you. Maybe they can move the factory unit to the trunk??

Here's a link to my truck:


http://suvworld.tenmagazines.com/mygallery.ten?id=4123


KRS
KRS62 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > TL > 2nd Gen TL

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Acura Forum : Acura Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking up amp and sub.... stumped. Cloud_Walker Audio/Visual 22 10-29-05 02:24 PM
Problem with new subs and amp HotLauva Audio/Visual 3 06-28-04 11:47 PM
f/s jl subs with kenwood amp j98tt Aftermarket Parts and Accessories 0 02-03-04 06:20 PM
Eldevioso: reply about your aftermarket amp/sub Austin519 Audio/Visual 0 10-27-03 05:25 AM
are these subs ok? badazzTL Audio/Visual 7 06-27-02 10:09 AM

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome