Replacing 2002 TL Bose system - Acura Forum : Acura Forums

2nd Gen TL Forum specific to the Acura TL, 1999-2003.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-27-10, 11:26 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
Replacing 2002 TL Bose system

I recently purchased a new stereo unit for my 2002 Acura TL at Best Buy, and at the time they made no mention of any problems they would have installing it. But when taking it in for installation, they say that because my car has a Bose sound system, they would have to rewire every speaker individually, and that this would now be a 4 hour install and cost me an extra $180 on top of what I've already paid. Can anyone confirm that this is what needs to be done or were they trying to milk me for more money? Thanks.
rantonio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 02-27-10, 11:37 PM
Banned
 
Duckdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The Old West
Age: 58
Posts: 30,197
It's a problem with the Bose speakers being a different ohm rating than what the new head unit will comply with. I think they are talking out of their ass on the rewire, as the wiring shouldn't be the problem.
Duckdog is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 02-27-10, 11:44 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 2
If that's the problem then what would they be doing to get around it? They didn't say I would need to purchase any other equipment or parts so I don't know why it would become a much more involved install, but they said they would need to get to "run wire to each speaker". I honestly didn't pay too much attention to what exactly they were saying. I was just annoyed because I spent less than $180 for equipment and install to begin with, and didn't feel like doubling that if I didn't have to.
rantonio is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 03-06-10, 10:02 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by rantonio View Post
If that's the problem then what would they be doing to get around it? They didn't say I would need to purchase any other equipment or parts so I don't know why it would become a much more involved install, but they said they would need to get to "run wire to each speaker". I honestly didn't pay too much attention to what exactly they were saying. I was just annoyed because I spent less than $180 for equipment and install to begin with, and didn't feel like doubling that if I didn't have to.
This is crap, the bose speakers are 4 ohms like any other speaker. I began my system install with just a radio (and have come along way since) and didn't have any problems. You'll only lose the use of your factory sub on the rear deck. There is a mod to make that work though. Now I'm at about $2k of audio and electronics in my TL so I've seen just about every obstacle the beautiful car has.
motoxrider295 is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 03-21-10, 10:14 PM
Jed
 
Jedmeister02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Huntsville, AL
Age: 31
Posts: 1
Getting the stock sub moded?

Motox, is there anywhere on the net we can look up how to mod the stock sub so that it works with an aftermarket CD reciever. I have an 02 TL Type S with that problem. Just bought a $160 Sony player to replace the stock and don't want to have a sub I'm getting zero use out of. Not trying to build a pricey system, just want it back the way it was.

Any advice? Thanks!
Jedmeister02 is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 03-25-10, 10:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Yea I got the same problem and it'd be very helpful if someone can post how to still use the factory sub or a link to the how to...thanks in advance
slow dr1v3r is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 04-11-10, 03:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 7
Aftermarket stereo...

Did you have to do anything tricky with wires or harnesses to get the steering wheel controls to work with an aftermarket deck?
BLKonBLK-Y2K-TL is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 04-24-10, 01:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: hampton roads VA
Posts: 1
? about 2002 acura tl bose system

what size sub is in the bose acura tl 2002
babybeast is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 04-27-10, 02:34 AM
Registered User
 
NobelTL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Medford OR
Age: 31
Posts: 12,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by babybeast View Post
what size sub is in the bose acura tl 2002
9 inches, I know the 8" Kicker CVT8 is one of the few if not only sub that will fit in it. The sub has to be shallow and thats why.

Last edited by NobelTL; 04-28-10 at 08:38 PM.
NobelTL is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 04-27-10, 08:43 AM
Tastes minty
 
pianoman41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Western MA
Age: 47
Posts: 7,325
My Mood: Tired
The factory sub is actually a 9", and it is *very* shallow due to the trunk hinge cross-brace that runs right underneath it, which is why it is so hard to find a replacement for it.


Matt
2005 BSM MDX w/navi
pianoman41 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > TL > 2nd Gen TL

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Acura Forum : Acura Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Ad Management plugin by RedTyger