1996 Acura Tl Ciggarette lighter...... - Acura Forum : Acura Forums

1st Gen TL A forum related to model years 96-98 TL.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 03-30-10, 10:46 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
1996 Acura Tl Ciggarette lighter......

i have a 96 TL 2.5, the ciggarette lighter wont work, i just bought a gps and realized it wont work because my outlet isnt working...? i have no idea how to fix this, somone says check a fuse but idk where that would be? anybody knwo anything about thissssssss? thanks
Acura96Florio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 03-30-10, 10:57 PM
**** Whore
 
6MTUA5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Age: 29
Posts: 10,142
My Mood: Bored
Send a message via AIM to 6MTUA5
They mean either a fuse in one of the regular fuse boxes or the fuse in the cigarette lighter itself.

Is the GPS used or brand new?


KRIS -- 1999 Acura 3.2TL-P 6MT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dc5wha? View Post
I get the nut butter...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckdog
Hope that last batch of toilet paper I bought is industrial strength!!
6MTUA5 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 03-30-10, 11:14 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
the gps works perfect in another car, but my cigarette lighter itself doesnt light or wont power anything plugged into it ...?
Acura96Florio is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 03-30-10, 11:15 PM
**** Whore
 
6MTUA5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Age: 29
Posts: 10,142
My Mood: Bored
Send a message via AIM to 6MTUA5
Did you check all of the fuse boxes in the car?

I'm trying to think if there is a fuse behind the cigarette lighter [socket] itself

KRIS -- 1999 Acura 3.2TL-P 6MT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dc5wha? View Post
I get the nut butter...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckdog
Hope that last batch of toilet paper I bought is industrial strength!!
6MTUA5 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 03-30-10, 11:18 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
i havent checked any fuses yet, i know theres a fuse box under the hood to the front right and then another fuse box i think in front of the passenger seat somwhere down there im not sure, but i hope thats the problem because i have no idea what else it would be...
Acura96Florio is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 03-30-10, 11:41 PM
Banned
 
Duckdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The Old West
Age: 57
Posts: 30,197
The fuse for that is in the interior fuse box, located in the leg well of the drivers side.

Good luck. This is a fuse that will blow from time to time.
Duckdog is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 03-30-10, 11:45 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
alright ill check that out tommorow, thanks alot, ill get back to you guys when i check it out...
Acura96Florio is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 03-30-10, 11:50 PM
Banned
 
Duckdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The Old West
Age: 57
Posts: 30,197
These cars have 2 fuse boxes as it typical with Honda. The main fuse box is under the hood on top of the driver's side front wheel well. The one for the interior is along the outside of the leg well where your left leg would rub if you were driving the car.
Duckdog is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 03-31-10, 12:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 20
its a relay from acura $45 or $55 bucks the cig lighter doesnt have a fuse (so says alldata)
gunther is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 03-31-10, 12:22 AM
Banned
 
Duckdog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: The Old West
Age: 57
Posts: 30,197
Duckdog is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 03-31-10, 05:13 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acura96Florio View Post
i have a 96 TL 2.5, the ciggarette lighter wont work, i just bought a gps and realized it wont work because my outlet isnt working...? i have no idea how to fix this, somone says check a fuse but idk where that would be? anybody knwo anything about thissssssss? thanks
Fuse under the hood
First check your fuses. If that isn't the problem try this: take a small flat head screw driver and gently bend the two prongs out a little bit. They are used to hold the lighter in place so that it will operate properly. If your lighter works with the key off remove the fuse first. As for replacing the lighter there are two wires connected on the back side you'll need to remove them. On some lighters you will have to unscrew the outer body to remove the lighter others have a nut that has to be removed. Access to the back side of the lighter is always a pain and how you gain access depends on the make, model and year. I hope this helps you.
journeychen is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 03-31-10, 11:12 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
ok so i searched both fuse boxes today and all fuses were good and there wasnt a fuse for the ciggarette lighter, therefore i have no idea what the problem is now ....maybe i need a whole new plug lighter thing?
Acura96Florio is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 04-01-10, 01:15 AM
**** Whore
 
6MTUA5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: FLORIDA
Age: 29
Posts: 10,142
My Mood: Bored
Send a message via AIM to 6MTUA5
Quote:
Originally Posted by Acura96Florio View Post
ok so i searched both fuse boxes today and all fuses were good and there wasnt a fuse for the ciggarette lighter, therefore i have no idea what the problem is now ....maybe i need a whole new plug lighter thing?
Quote:
Originally Posted by gunther View Post
its a relay from acura $45 or $55 bucks the cig lighter doesnt have a fuse (so says alldata)
^^ He says it's a relay. Where is that relay located? In one of the fuse boxes, right?

KRIS -- 1999 Acura 3.2TL-P 6MT
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dc5wha? View Post
I get the nut butter...
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckdog
Hope that last batch of toilet paper I bought is industrial strength!!
6MTUA5 is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 04-02-10, 01:43 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 8
yeah ill have to order one, and yes im pretty sure that relay would be under the hood in that fuse box because there like isnt any in that small box inside the car
Acura96Florio is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > TL > 1st Gen TL

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Acura Forum : Acura Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome