Right halfshaft assembly removal - Acura Forum : Acura Forums
Acura Forums Acura Forums

Go Back   Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Featured Forums > Do It Yourself

Do It Yourself No more whining, "I don't know how!!!!!" Suck it up and try, babies! Posts in this forum are moderated, so it may take time for your post to display.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-06-07, 04:54 PM   #1 (permalink)

Car 1: 1991 Acura Integra
Right halfshaft assembly removal

I have a 1991 Acura Intgra (actually I bought it for my 16 year old son). After having the car for a week, he had a blowout going around a curve in the back of our neighborhood and hit a curb, folding the right front wheel under the car and bending stuff underneath. Since it was going to cost over twice what I paid for the car to have it fixed, I decided to get the parts and do it myself. I'm not a mechanic, but I am an engineer and can figure most things out if I think about it long enough. After getting everything off that I thought I needed to remove, I went to the salvage yard and got all the replacement parts. They took a look at my spindle and said "You need to remove tha axle and get one from Auto Zone." I came back and started trying to figure out how to get what is apparently the "right halfshaft assembly" out of the transaxle, but there are no instructions on how to do this in my Chilton's manual. Can someone here please help me out with this? Do I need to open the transaxle case and remove a keeper from the end of the shaft??? I kind of figured if it was going to be THAT detailed, that there would have been more instructions in my Chilton's manual.

I appreciate any help or advice you can send my direction.

Sincerely,

Paul
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-03-08, 11:48 PM   #2

Paul,