Error message : Tighten Fuel Cap - Acura Forum : Acura Forums

3rd Gen TL Forum for the GV platform TL - 2004 to 2008.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 12-27-09, 06:19 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 3
Error message : Tighten Fuel Cap

Or something to that effect, it's happened twice now in the last couple of days, the error comes on the display, I acknowledge it. I drive for a bit, stop, and restart. Immediately the error is back again. I drive for a while, and it disappears. Two days later, same thing. I did screw the cap on after the first error - there was about 2/3rds of a tank. Today, it came back on again, I'm down to about a 1/3rd tank.

The cap is on tight, I turn it until it clicks a few times. Any ideas? I had a Chrysler that had the same error - I did have the cap on pretty loose - and it didin't go away until I refilled the tank. Do I need to do the same here?
catocony is offline  
Sponsored Links
post #2 of 9 Old 12-27-09, 06:58 PM
Moderatus Emeriti
Nikon1's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Somewhere between PA & NJ
Posts: 22,230
I would go back to your dealer - some states actually have test equipment that will check your fuel cap for a leak or poor seal. As the Fuel cap is a vital part of your emission control system, it could be causing the error - or point to another component that is the root cause of the problem.

Perfect paranoia is perfect awareness!
Nikon1 is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 01-10-10, 07:53 AM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 2
I have an 08 with 60K miles and I have had the same error message about ten times in the last year. my dealer told me that it is not common but he has heard about it. He gave me no info on how to fix it. It is a little annoying, but I just usually check(tighten) the cap and clear the error message on go on about my business. I have had no problems from it to speak of. GOOD LUCK
Tony-24 is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 01-11-10, 02:43 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Sounds to me like the cap is not sealing. Make the dealer replace it if your under warranty. In NJ the vehicle fuel cap is tested during the inspection process and you fail if it leaks.
vortex43 is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 01-12-10, 02:11 PM
Old Parts Slinger
C25A1guy's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Burbank, CA
Age: 32
Posts: 9,605
Send a message via AIM to C25A1guy
Are you tightening the cap until you get some clicks? If not, do that (I know, it sounds stupid, but I've had some of my customer's moms and girlfriends call me because they haven't been tightening their filler cap tight enough). If that's still no good, go back to the dealer and get a new cap (if you're still under warranty, even better).

C25A1guy is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 01-18-10, 01:17 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 2
How old is the cap? The guys at the emission testing center told me the caps wear down over time, increasing emissions and lessening MPG. Could this be the source of the error message? When this happened with my old '92 Accord, the cap was a mere $10 or so.
Zookoo is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 10-27-10, 05:20 PM
Registered User
SoftwareDrone's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 66
When I first purchased my '07 TL-S, I wasn't six miles from the dealership when the loose gas cap message came on. I took it right back to the dealership and their mechanic replaced some module, problem disappeared.
SoftwareDrone is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 10-28-10, 10:59 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
There is a service bullentin about the "tighten fuel cap" issue. There is a sensor that needs to be replaced and can be done at the dealer. I just had mine fixed, 07 TL, at the dealer for no charge. I had a copy of the service bullentin with me so that I didn't have foolish things done to the car that would not take care of the problem once and for all. I have not had any problems since. Hope this helps everyone having this annoying problem.
snoozabelle is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 11-09-10, 09:33 PM
Registered User
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 21
I have the same thing done with my Type-S. It was covered under warranty. I was told it was some PCV valve....???

07 CBP TL-S 5AT:
donnieb83 is offline  
Sponsored Links

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > TL > 3rd Gen TL

Quick Reply

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Acura Forum : Acura Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:


Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome

Ad Management plugin by RedTyger