Acura World banner

2014 MDX Transmission Problems

10K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  vtech92 
#1 ·
Hi everyone, I'm new to this forum and hoping some of you can help me out with options. In April 2015 I took over a lease of a 2014 MDX, everything was done through the dealership and after looking at service records of the vehicle and the dealership telling me that the previous lessee was a very good customer of theirs I took over the lease. The vehicle had about 40,000KM on it. In Februry of 2016, I took it for the first oil change at a Jiffy Lube and brought my own oil & filter (Mobil1). I've been using this oil in all my vehicles for the last 20 years. The reason I took it to the place I always bring all my vehicles to in the last 25 years is because my closest Acura dealership is 7 hours away. The Computer indicated that I still had about 20% left on the oil motor oil. The MDX presently has about 55,000 KM on it.

On May 9th, I was driving on a freeway passing 2 transports and I heard a clunk sound and the vehicle's RPM changing. No warnings came on and the vehicle kept going but RPM seemed high. I drove to the nearest city which was about 25 miles away and pulled to a gas station to fill-up. When I restarted the vehicle, the computer displayed a transmission problem. I drove to a nearby's friend place and called Acura Roadside Assitant where the MDX was transported to the nearest dealership (3 hours away). I was left on my own for me and my wife to make it home the rest of the 4 hour drives... Thank God for family and friends.