Need Help With Stereo After Replacing Battery - Acura Forum : Acura Forums
2nd Gen TL Forum specific to the Acura TL, 1999-2003.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-28-19, 05:10 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Need Help With Stereo After Replacing Battery

Hey all,

Got an '03 TL and just replaced the battery (after 8 years) and when I entered the radio code, it would not reset. I verified the code with the card you get from Acura and tried entering the code 3 times but each time it came up as an error. Any ideas? Anyone else have this problem?
CHUCK W is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 01-29-19, 05:17 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Anyone?
CHUCK W is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 02-03-19, 06:10 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Hello?
CHUCK W is offline  
 
post #4 of 7 Old 02-06-19, 12:28 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Try entering the code in a covered parking structure.
benkrone is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 02-06-19, 01:50 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 1
you have to pull out the antena wire from back of the radio then input the code why that works who knows but it does i had the same problem take off the panel on the side of the radio and reach behind
CabNY is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 02-11-19, 05:09 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Posts: 7
Thanks to both of you but I found another cure online. It turns out that if you unplug the antenna on the rear window, it will permit the code to reset the radio. That is what I did yesterday. It is a whole lot easier than trying to reach back behind the radio to remove the antenna plug. This is an easy fix that anyone can do. Just look at the top of the rear window, where the glass meets the headliner and slip off the plastic cap that covers the antenna connection. Unplug it, input your code and you are good. Plug the antenna back into connection and replace the plastic cover. That easy.
CHUCK W is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 02-17-19, 09:39 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 6
Garage
I see you have already resolved your issue. I couldn't remember my password to post...

I recently called Acura for assistance recovering my radio code after replacing my battery. I did not have a card with code (even though I am original owner).

Acura was very helpful, after providing my VIN and other information, they provided me a code that enabled the radio again. I promptly updated the Acura Owners site with the information. Once entered, I did not have to do anything with the NAV.

(Note: entering the incorrect code too many times will disable the radio for 1 hour, I did that and just disconnected battery again to allow me to enter the code once Acura helpline provided.)
revray is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > TL > 2nd Gen TL

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Acura Forum : Acura Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Ad Management plugin by RedTyger