check engine light code 7 and 17 - Acura Forum : Acura Forums
1st Gen CL A forum related to model years 96-99 CL.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 07-21-03, 10:21 PM Thread Starter
I prefer the Deep South..
 
Ivan The Terrible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hartford, CT
Age: 40
Posts: 30,140
Send a message via AIM to Ivan The Terrible
check engine light code 7 and 17

so i finally got my car and as soon as i got on the highway, the check engine light lit up....

so i used the paperclip method and found out that it's code 7 and 17. the site i got the codes from is http://home.insightbb.com/~niedejb/refs.html

7 Throttle Position Input Low/High
17 Vehicle Speed Sensor Malfunction

i'm wondering if they are related or they broke separately...

and the car is shifting abnormally hard and i'm wondering if it's b/c of the throttle position input error.

any ideas???

I'll try to get her to the dealer tomorrow.

Thanks

Last edited by Ivan The Terrible; 07-21-03 at 10:25 PM.
Ivan The Terrible is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 07-22-03, 11:28 AM
Sucks teh Board
 
n2oJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Age: 37
Posts: 14,097
i'd take it to the dealer. BUT DON'T HAVE THEM CLEAN YOUR LEATHER!

I like burritos

n2oJunkie is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 07-22-03, 11:55 AM Thread Starter
I prefer the Deep South..
 
Ivan The Terrible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hartford, CT
Age: 40
Posts: 30,140
Send a message via AIM to Ivan The Terrible
hehe, i'll take it to the dealer tomorrow. just hoping that they won't rape me in there
Ivan The Terrible is offline  
 
post #4 of 13 Old 07-22-03, 12:36 PM
Sucks teh Board
 
n2oJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Age: 37
Posts: 14,097
they will

I like burritos

n2oJunkie is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 07-23-03, 09:18 PM Thread Starter
I prefer the Deep South..
 
Ivan The Terrible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hartford, CT
Age: 40
Posts: 30,140
Send a message via AIM to Ivan The Terrible
took the car in today

they said it's 2 things, egr valve and the speedo sensor.

i know that hte egr valve is under the extened warranty but i didn't know that the speedo sensor is also. so no charge for me

but they said that the car was running kinda rough and shifting pretty hard. so they suggested to clean the injectors and flush the tranny for $230 total. I think that's too much so i told them not to do it.

where else can i get the tranny flush and injectors cleaned w/o paying for an arm and leg?

I'm thinking can i do it myself? if so, what would i need and want kinda tranny fluid is the best for our cars?

thanks scott
Ivan The Terrible is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 07-23-03, 09:56 PM
Moderator?
 
CaliMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Peoples Republic of Mexifornia
Age: 46
Posts: 9,839
Send a message via AIM to CaliMike
You can clean the injectors with a couple of bottles of Techron. I'm sure an independent shop can flush and fill the tranny for lots less.

Where's my Obama Bucks?
CaliMike is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 07-23-03, 11:29 PM
jinny=guy, avatar=girl
 
jinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Porter Ranch, CA (aka Northridge)
Age: 49
Posts: 17,140
if you just want to drain and refill, you can do it yourself... its like and easier oil change (cause you don't have to worry about getting oil on you arm when you change the filter)... but you will need a long funnel to reach the file hole...

I think my local jiffylube does some kind of fancy tranny flush that is supposed to get all the fluid... I think they call it powerflush. I was told the power flush is good cause there is usually little bits of metal in your old fluid so getting all of it out is nice... they do that for $70, if I remember correct. the drain and fill that you could fo cost $40 at jiffylube.

I'm still alive on the internet!
jinny is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 07-23-03, 11:46 PM Thread Starter
I prefer the Deep South..
 
Ivan The Terrible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hartford, CT
Age: 40
Posts: 30,140
Send a message via AIM to Ivan The Terrible
i wonder where's a juffylube in my area. i need to give the car the mobile 1 oil change anyway.

btw, do i have to change the tranny filter and tranny pan gasket too?

thanks guys, keep the comments coming!!!

Last edited by Ivan The Terrible; 07-23-03 at 11:51 PM.
Ivan The Terrible is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 07-24-03, 03:14 AM
Moderator?
 
CaliMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: The Peoples Republic of Mexifornia
Age: 46
Posts: 9,839
Send a message via AIM to CaliMike
If you go to Jiffy lube, be sure to take in your own oil drain plug washer and your own ATF. Don't let those clowns put in anything but genuine Honda ATF. And those oil drain plug washers are designed for one use. The Jiffy lube clowns will reuse it and just torque the plug even harder to get it to seal.

Where's my Obama Bucks?
CaliMike is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 07-24-03, 10:56 AM
Sucks teh Board
 
n2oJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Age: 37
Posts: 14,097
you must use honda ATF. Also, what kind of errors did they say the speed sensor gave?

I like burritos

n2oJunkie is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 07-24-03, 11:39 AM
jinny=guy, avatar=girl
 
jinny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Porter Ranch, CA (aka Northridge)
Age: 49
Posts: 17,140
Quote:
Originally posted by CaliMike
If you go to Jiffy lube, be sure to take in your own oil drain plug washer and your own ATF. Don't let those clowns put in anything but genuine Honda ATF. And those oil drain plug washers are designed for one use. The Jiffy lube clowns will reuse it and just torque the plug even harder to get it to seal.
haha... your jiffylube sucks!

it took me a while but I found a jiffy lube around me that I semi trust... in my trails i found that they are not all the same... I've bee charged anywhere from $45 to $100 for a synthetic oil change... be carefull.
I don't mind reusing the drain plug but changing the washer is a must... I have a couple lying around from when I changed my own oil... but I always get my old washer back from them when I get an oil change... they should have the washers there... there should be no reason to not change those one time use things.. they are designed to compress a little the first time you use it... once you take it out.. it is crushed and cannot compress again, so the seal wont be as good unless you monster tighten the plug... then you risk stripping the threads or breaking the nut off the back and then it will just spin freely... no good... you will need a new pan if that happens. my local guys don't have honda atf, so I bring in my own... the power flush uses a lot of fluid, so I brought in a case... a had a lot left over...

I'm still alive on the internet!
jinny is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 07-24-03, 02:12 PM Thread Starter
I prefer the Deep South..
 
Ivan The Terrible's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Hartford, CT
Age: 40
Posts: 30,140
Send a message via AIM to Ivan The Terrible
i didn't ask for what kinda error i got. i'll ask when i go pick it up. it's still not ready yet

so are you talking about engine oil change, or tranny fluid change? I guess i'll have to get the drain plug washer from the dealer, right? I've heard about Redline ATF that's supposed to be good. should i use that or should i use the honda ATf??

Thanks so much guys
Ivan The Terrible is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 07-24-03, 02:31 PM
Sucks teh Board
 
n2oJunkie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Age: 37
Posts: 14,097
stick w/ honda ATF

I like burritos

n2oJunkie is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Coupe / Hatchback > CL > 1st Gen CL

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Acura Forum : Acura Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Ad Management plugin by RedTyger