Dash Board Gauges stop working - Acura Forum : Acura Forums
3rd Gen TL Forum for the GV platform TL - 2004 to 2008.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 07-03-14, 12:08 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
Dash Board Gauges stop working

I have a 2005 TL and recently while driving down the freeway all my dash board gauges (except the fuel gauge), went to zero and the VSA lights came on the AC stopped working. Took it to Acura dealer and they replaced the battery and some voltage cable to dash board ($600) and everything was fine for a week. Same problem started again. If I stop the car, shut it off and restart it all the gauges and AC work just fine until the next time they go to zero. The gauges can go to zero and then to back to normal multiple times and then either stay normal or stay at zero.
Went back to dealer who worked with engineers at Acura HQ and they cannot ID the problem or a solution except tear all the electrical wiring apart to try and find a "short" and if that is not successful then to test each component of the electrical system - very expensive and quite frankly according to my service manager impractical as well. Other suggestion is to live with it until something actually breaks down and the car stops working and then they can ID the problem. Neither option very acceptable.
Has anyone else had this problem and were you able to resolve it successfully??

Doug
dhimmelberg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 07-29-14, 05:17 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 1
I have exactly the same problem in my 04 TL. Unfortunately for me while this was happening my car was overheating so now I'm dealing with a blown head gasket in top of this headache, I've already replace the electric part of the ignition switch and the multiplex control unit and still no luck. Any help would be highly appreciated. RD
RD_04TL is offline  
post #3 of 11 Old 08-09-14, 12:55 PM
Registered User
 
Frosty.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 17
I had something similar happen awhile ago. It ended up being a fuse that kept blowing from a faulty rocker switch I installed. I replaced the switch, and the fuse stopped blowing (can't remember the fuse #).
Frosty. is offline  
 
post #4 of 11 Old 06-28-16, 04:56 PM
Awaiting Confirmation
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2
I have 2001 ACURA CL 150,000 miles same thing sorta

2001 Acura CL 150,000 i have the same thing almost, i'm driving and everything works great and all of a sudden the whole instrument panel goes dead. The car is still running and a few minutes later the instrument panel is backup and working and then its dead again etc... 2 things, the maintenance light has been on for a couple of weeks and had a new battery put in about a week ago! could it be a fuse or ... TIA
ACURA200CL is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 05-09-17, 05:50 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
Has anyone ever fixed this problem?
MarkJ28 is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 08-07-17, 07:49 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
My Mood: Crappy
Unhappy Dashboard Gauges not working/ac not working

I have a 2007 Acura TL that hesitated to move forward, then the battery needed re-charging. I had people jumpstart the car three times since last Tuesday. 08/1 I proceeded to have the corrosion cleaned off the battery poles to enhance the voltage, this was done by removing the battery cables once my battery cables were removed the instrument cluster died. I do not know how fast I'm going, how much gas is in the car or any info provided from the dashboard. Also my AC went out along with the instrument cluster....someone please help! I have received two mechanic opinions....Acura and a local Garage here and they both are pointing to replacing the instrument cluster. Someone HELP!!!!
acurabfw is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 08-10-17, 12:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 3
My Mood: Crappy
Quote:
Originally Posted by acurabfw View Post
I have a 2007 Acura TL that hesitated to move forward, then the battery needed re-charging. I had people jumpstart the car three times since last Tuesday. 08/1 I proceeded to have the corrosion cleaned off the battery poles to enhance the voltage, this was done by removing the battery cables once my battery cables were removed the instrument cluster died. I do not know how fast I'm going, how much gas is in the car or any info provided from the dashboard. Also my AC went out along with the instrument cluster....someone please help! I have received two mechanic opinions....Acura and a local Garage here and they both are pointing to replacing the instrument cluster. Someone HELP!!!!
*****08/10 Part# 78100-SEP-A42 is the instrument cluster part# Acura stated I need, I am getting the part from a Junk Yard and they are stating the same part# ending in A41 or A43 will work does anyone know this to be true?
acurabfw is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 09-05-17, 06:33 PM
Awaiting Confirmation
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 1
I have a 2004 TL and am having the same issue - intermittently go to zero and then back on. My VSA light started coming on and off a week ago and now my tach/speedo/temp light go on and off. When this happens, my AC stops blowing cold. But, then it goes back to normal. Ugh. I am taking my car in Friday for service and would like to know a solution before I go in. Thanks!
JMoney68 is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 01-07-18, 09:35 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 1
Any outcome?
Mikejones171 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 04-22-18, 06:53 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMoney68 View Post
I have a 2004 TL and am having the same issue - intermittently go to zero and then back on. My VSA light started coming on and off a week ago and now my tach/speedo/temp light go on and off. When this happens, my AC stops blowing cold. But, then it goes back to normal. Ugh. I am taking my car in Friday for service and would like to know a solution before I go in. Thanks!
I have the exact same issue. Were you able to get yours resolved?
blakeburn is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 08-29-19, 01:09 AM
atm
Awaiting Confirmation
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Did anyone have a resolution to this? Have a bunch of DTC codes related to loss of communication and b-can f-can errors on the Navi diagnostics. A/C stops but restarts upon restart. Think is could be he gauge cluster itself that's the issue as it is the only common component to the two systems from what I can tell.
atm is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > TL > 3rd Gen TL

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Acura Forum : Acura Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Ad Management plugin by RedTyger