Newb - Radio Code - Acura Forum : Acura Forums
3rd Gen TL Forum for the GV platform TL - 2004 to 2008.

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 10-06-19, 05:07 PM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Millwoodva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Newb - Radio Code

Just purchased an 07 S-Type from a non-Acura dealer yesterday.
He said battery was dead prior to my arrival and had to jump start.
Navi screen asks for code and previous owner did not have it logged.

Options other than taking to dealer..

Thanks in advance !
Millwoodva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 10-08-19, 09:26 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Millwoodva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
I've exhausted the YouTube suggestions..
Logged in manual or glovebox
Power On .. Off.. Hold 1 & 6
Millwoodva is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 10-08-19, 10:00 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 25
Are you certain the code is not on a sticker on the side of the glove box? It is on my '06 and '10 Acura's. It is a factory sticker.

If for some reason it is not, your only option is to pull the radio out of the console. It will have a sticker on it with a code number. An Acura dealer can then match that code up with the code to key in to enable the radio. They will usually do this for free.

Pulling the radio is not that hard if you have the plastic pry tools to do it. HF sells them for about $5
Astrobuf is offline  
 
post #4 of 8 Old 10-08-19, 11:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 11
"Just purchased an 07 S-Type from a non-Acura dealer yesterday.
He said battery was dead prior to my arrival and had to jump start."

I have good news and bad news. The good news is what Astrobuf said, eventually you can get the dealer to punch in the code. Better news, you can replace the junk for something modern.

The bad news - this is a typical BS ripoff tactic from used dealerships - you are almost certainly going to have check engine lights in your future.
cgilley is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 10-09-19, 08:08 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
You will need to go to the dealer to obtain the radio code, but they shouldn't charge you for that.
fricsay is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 10-09-19, 08:10 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 3
I have a 2007 Type S and it is one of the best cars I ever owned and I have had owned many cars. I have 144k on mine and it runs like new.
fricsay is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 10-15-19, 09:24 PM
Registered User
 
Zedicous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Slidell, LA.
Age: 50
Posts: 27
Honda has a website for this, i would think Acura has something too. i had to do this last year on a
06 civic, ultimately i ended up calling the phone number on the website of codes and a very nice lady helped me find the correct code.
Zedicous is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 10-16-19, 08:41 AM Thread Starter
Registered User
 
Millwoodva's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 6
Got it sorted..

All squared away guys... Thanks. !

Got the radio s/n by pressing keys on the radio in a specific sequence.
Then emailed Acura with VIN & radio s/n... they provided radio and navi codes.

Thanks again !
Millwoodva is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

  Acura Forum : Acura Forums > Luxury Sedans > TL > 3rd Gen TL

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Acura Forum : Acura Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in











Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 

Ad Management plugin by RedTyger