Suspension for Noobs! - Acura Forum : Acura Forums
Integra Forum related to the Acura Integra

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 07-28-08, 03:48 AM Thread Starter
What is Hip?

Suspension for Noobs!

Hey guys/gals,

My ride is pretty rough, and I was looking to upgrade/replace some or all of the suspension components. I am a complete noob when it comes to suspension, so I have no clue what components make up the suspension on 2nd gen integras. Anybody want to do a quick run down of the suspension components and their functions, or even better, does anyone know a good site I can find all of this info?

-Thanks-

Last edited by m0nst3r; 07-28-08 at 05:00 AM.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 14 Old 07-28-08, 02:12 PM
Opinionated

replacing every single suspension component will cost you a lot of money, especially if you're you doing it on all four corners. i assume you'll want coilovers which will run close to $1000. control arms and bushing and brackets will cost anywhere from $200-300 in junk yard costs up to $2000 from the dealership. Then if you have to pay to have all the work done you'll be looking at about 10ish hours of labor for it all so tack on 650-850 bucks.

my advice....see what NEEDS to be replaced and take care of that. I'll bet your control and/or trailing arm bushings are either blown or rotted unless they've been replaced before

a nice new net of OE shocks and struts should be all you need to smoothen out that rough ride

There's no such thing as a stupid question; just stupid people asking questions.
post #3 of 14 Old 07-28-08, 04:45 PM Thread Starter
What is Hip?

Yea, with all the stuff you just described, it's like you spoke to me in a completely different language.

Shocks, struts, control arms, trailing arms...huh? I thought shocks and struts were the same thing. You know any websites that explain all this stuff?