Acura World banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
34 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi i am considering Acura of my next car probably RLX, but since i have limited knowledge about them i started this topic,
are Acura eating /consuming a lot of oil like honda/accords in recent years or its better?
J35Y4 V6 accoring to wiki this is RLX engine does it consume a lot of oil like honda/accord for example every 1 litre per 1000 miles or something, does it have indicator if engine oil is low or u need manually to check it?
Are there any serious flaws with these cars in general like engine issues/transmission issues suspension issue or something else?

Also why on canada only less than 10 rlx are up for sale into the moment are these cars extremely rare?
Is it same story in usa , since i plan to import rlx from usa or canada to bg.

How Often Acura RLX engine timing chains etcs needs to be changed after how many miles, also how often should gearbox oil needed to be changed?

·
Registered
106 Posts
The Acura oil consumption issue was centered around the 3.7L port injection engine for the TL and MDX. I have a 3.7L 2011 MDX with +150,000 miles and my oil consumption has never changed and is around 1 1/2 quarts per 9000 miles oil change interval with Mobil 1 syn oil. Honda/Acura share engines like the 2.4L I4, 2.0L Turbo and 3.5L direct injection engine. Acura usually changes the engine programming to squeeze out a touch more hp/tq from running on 91 octane fuel compared to only needing 87 octane for the Honda version. You can still run the current Acura engines on 87 Octane fuel with some drop in hp/tq closer to Honda power levels. Oil consumption isn't an issue like it was before with the newer Acura.

I found this website with old Acura brochures of trim levels: Auto-Brochures.com|Acura Car, CUV & SUV PDF Sales Brochure/Catalog/Flyer/Info CL ILX Integra Legend MDX NSX RDX RL RLX RSX TL TLX TSX Vigor ZDX