Acura World banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Newbie here, so hello everyone!

Have a '90 Integra for a daily driver- and it is time for engine replacement. Just love it too much to let it go. B18A's are near impossible to find, but have been told that a B18B will bolt right up. I plan to use my old distributor & intake manifold to keep it simple & hopefully still able to pass smog. So the question is this: Is it truly this simple? Will the bell housing mate perfectly with the alignment pins and bolt holes in the right place? How about engine mounts? Will anything have to be adapted? I'm looking at a 'B18B 94-97 (LS) Long Block' pullout. If I get confirmation this will be an easy swap I'll change the water pump, t-stat, & timing belt, swap the manifold & distributor. Add coolant, filter, & oil. Probably clutch plate, disc, throwout bearing too. Anything else I need to consider? What I need is a simple, straight forward, & cheap way to stay on the road. Am I on the right track? If this was 20 years ago and we we talking an old air cooled Beetle I'd know what to expect- but I am new to the Acura/Honda world, but I do plan on staying a long while!

Kitfox

·
just call me moe
5,483 Posts
why did you say you have an intrepid? and yes the blocks are just about identical. it is simple and straightforward.

·
Integra Mod/2nd Gen Guru
4,756 Posts
I'm confused? Intrepid...

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Sorry- duh! Yes I have an Intrepid as well- that is the wife's car. Can't wait to get rid of it either. At least I know people catch the details here! Mine is an INTEGRA! To many cars start with INT.

Thank you for confirmation. At this point I cannot afford any major "Oh $#%*" occurrences in the process. Will need it for getting to work in a couple weeks.

kitfox

·
Old Parts Slinger
9,604 Posts